Congratulations to the 2023 Marriott Foundation ICDC Travel Scholarship Recipients

Apr 4, 2023

Through a generous contribution from the J. Willard & Alice S. Marriott Foundation, DECA is pleased to provide travel scholarships to high school DECA members to participate in the 2023 International Career Development Conference (ICDC) in Orlando, FL.

Winners applied for scholarships based on their qualifying to compete in a hospitality event at ICDC and need for financial assistance.  

The following is a complete list of the winners:

  • Jerryll Collins, Minor High School, AL
  • Jenna Kim, Diamond Bar High School, CA
  • Alinah Liu, Diamond Bar High School, CA
  • Faith Thirsk, Mountain Range High School, CO
  • Natasha Rattray, Spanish River High School, FL
  • McKenzi Doss, Lee County High School, GA
  • Austin Friedmann, Post Falls High School, ID
  • Damian Perez, Elmwood Park High School, IL
  • Alexa Vateva, Elmwood Park High School, IL
  • Sareena Kandalkar, Olathe North High School, KS
  • Joseph Chen, Richard Montgomery High School, MD
  • Cecelia Gibson, Livonia Stevenson High School, MI
  • Ruta Hailu, Grosse Pointe North High School, MI
  • Taya Geglio, Jenison High School, MI
  • Isabella Dols, Elk River High School, MN
  • Peter Ciaccio Jr, Minnetonka High School, MN
  • Abigail Davis, Sauk Rapids-Rice High School, MN
  • Colin Phelps, Warrensburg Area Career Center, MO
  • Kailey Middleton, Harrison County Career & Technical Center, MS
  • Eva Lopez, Harrison County Career & Technical Center, MS
  • Aaliyah Newsome, Tupelo Career & Technical Center, MS
  • Nada Almasri, Tupelo Career & Technical Center, MS
  • Jhazlyn Wynne, Grand Forks Central High School, ND
  • Ella Daily, Millard South High School, NE
  • Sara Malinak, Hightstown High School, NJ
  • Nancy Munoz, East Career and Technical Academy, NV
  • Olivia Frey, Warrior Run High School, PA
  • Aadi Patel, Wilson Central High School, TN
  • Esther Salamanca, Timpview High School, UT
  • Shreya Sharma, Broad Run High School, VA
  • Camryn Owens, Lake Braddock Secondary School, VA
  • Isabella Koontz, Cosby High School, VA
  • Grant Gonzalez, Potomac Falls High School, VA
  • Randall Gunter, Lee County Career & Technical Center, VA
  • Anna Blair, Appleton West High School, WI

Congratulations to all scholarship recipients and best of luck to the DECA members participating at ICDC!

The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation was established in 1965 with the purpose of giving back to the community. In 1985, shortly after the passing of J. Willard Marriott, Sr., the Foundation began actively making grants, led by Alice Sheets Marriott. The Foundation is dedicated to supporting exceptional nonprofit organizations that provide civic and human services, foster educational achievement, expand opportunities for youth and adults, develop the next generation of hospitality leaders and lead innovation in health and medicine. The Marriott Foundation is guided by a board of Marriott family members and a small, professional staff, working together to carry on the values and legacy of J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott.


Whitney Milbourne
Partnership and Volunteer Specialist

Whitney Milbourne is DECA's partnership and volunteer specialist. In this role, she manages a portfolio of corporate and association partners to enhance their engagement at all levels within DECA. She also leads our volunteer recruitment and engagement efforts for both virtual and in-person conferences and events.

Discussion Questions

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Classroom Connection

Career CLuster:

Instructional Area(s):

Performance Indicators:

No items found.