Congratulations to the Marriott Foundation ICDC Travel Scholarship Recipients

Apr 5, 2022

Through a generous contribution from the J. Willard & Alice S. Marriott Foundation, DECA is pleased to provide travel scholarships to high school DECA members to participate in the 2022 International Career Development Conference (ICDC) in Atlanta, Georgia.

Winners applied for scholarships based on their qualifying to compete in a hospitality event at ICDC and need for financial assistance.  

The following is a complete list of the winners:

  • Mary Avila-Wilkins, Springfield Catholic High School, MO
  • Emma Biasotti, Shadow Creek High School, TX
  • Zyana Bradford, Burlington High School, IA
  • Logan Brown, Port Clinton High School, OH
  • Siya Buddhadev, Hightstown High School, NJ
  • Mary Carolus, Waverly-Shell Rock High School, IA
  • Hector Carreon, North Kansas City High School, MO
  • Catherine Caruso, Lincoln High School, WV
  • Kayva Dave, Franklin High School, MA
  • Isabella Dols, Elk River High School, MN
  • Mateo Espinoza, Washington High School, CA
  • Dawnjade Fountaine, Rio Grande High School, NM
  • Zaida Gymafi, Colonial Forge High School, VA
  • Kaylee Hayden, Patrick Henry High School-Hanover, VA
  • Sareena Kandalkar, Olathe North High School, KS
  • Mariame Kane, Coon Rapids High School, MN
  • Serena Krishadatt, East Ridge High School, FL
  • Tina Le, Bentonville High School, AR
  • Adam Looney, Millard South High School, NE
  • Kailey Middleton, Harrison County Career and Technical Center, MS
  • Melayna Morrison, Los Alamos High School, NM
  • Jasia Moseley, Volcano Vista High School, NM
  • Mackenzie North, North Kingstown Senior High School, RI
  • Cecilia O’Grady, Potomac Falls High School, VA
  • Camryn Owens, Lake Braddock Secondary School, VA
  • Raven Owens, Edmond Santa Fe High School, OK
  • Alejandra Posas, Sports Leadership and Management Charter Middle/High School, FL
  • Jaisnav Rajesh, Waubonsie Valley High School, IL
  • Natasha Rattray, Spanish River High School, FL
  • Corey Shively, Denver East High School, CO
  • Megan Tucker, Algonquin Regional High School, MA
  • Lesly Vasquez, Northwest Career and Technical Academy, NV
  • Abigail Wegwitz, Herriman High School, UT
  • Luja Wilhelmsen, Weber High School, UT
  • Donnell Young, Alexis I Dupont High School, DE

Congratulations to all scholarship recipients and best of luck to the DECA members participating at ICDC!

The J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott Foundation was established in 1965 with the purpose of giving back to the community. In 1985, shortly after the passing of J. Willard Marriott, Sr., the Foundation began actively making grants, led by Alice Sheets Marriott. The Foundation is dedicated to supporting exceptional nonprofit organizations that provide civic and human services, foster educational achievement, expand opportunities for youth and adults, develop the next generation of hospitality leaders and lead innovation in health and medicine. The Marriott Foundation is guided by a board of Marriott family members and a small, professional staff, working together to carry on the values and legacy of J. Willard and Alice S. Marriott.


Diane Pruner
Grants Program Director

Diane Pruner is DECA's grants program director. In this role, she oversees the AT&T Grant, which connects students from underserved populations with AT&T employee mentors. Working with schools across the country, she helps facilitate mentorship opportunities, trainings and other programs that ensure students are college and career ready.

Discussion Questions

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Classroom Connection

Career CLuster:

Instructional Area(s):

Performance Indicators:

No items found.