#LaterHaters Student Challenge 2020 Winners Announced

69138849 Coginchaug Picture 3x2

The winners of the AT&T Later Haters student challenge have been selected!

This challenge, created by DECA Inc. and AT&T, was designed to promote and amplify the Later Haters movement. Students participating in the challenge completed tasks designed to raise awareness and prevent cyberbullying in participants’ respective schools and communities. The tasks included:

  • completing an online lesson on Digital Drama
  • taking an online pledge via the Later Haters website
  • creating a public service announcement (PSA)
  • executing a Later Haters promotional event

AT&T employees reviewed the submissions and selected the top three entries. Each of the top three winning teams will be recognized on stage at the International Career Development Conference (ICDC) this April in Nashville, Tennessee. The winning teams will also be awarded a travel stipend to attend the conference.

Congratulation to the following students:

1st Place

Carolyn Cumello, Micala Fontanella and Atalie Sweet
Coginchaug Regional High School, CT

2nd Place

Abby Garcia and Elle McNally
Fairfax High School, VA

3rd Place

Kinley Hiangphothichack, Katrice McMullen and Eugenia Plummer
Overton High School, TN


The Later Haters challenge for chartered associations will continue through March 27, 2020. This challenge is designed to drive awareness and prevent cyberbullying. The message is simple: take the pledge to stop the hate and spread the love. DECA members have the opportunity to help their chartered associations receive recognition at ICDC by obtaining the highest pledge count within their group designation (based on membership size). Members may collect pledges from friends, fellow students, parents, and other community members.

The highest pledge counts from chartered associations will be announced during the Grand Opening Session at ICDC in Nashville, TN.

Categories: DECA News, deca.org, High School, ICDC, Video Challenges